C.P.Smith Elementary School Home Page
Principal's Corner
May 15, 2015
I hope spring is off to a happy and healthy start for you and all the members of your family.  As we begin the process of transitioning from one school year to another, I wanted to remind everyone of the dates and times of several upcoming events.  Our annual Appreciation Assembly will be held on Thursday, June 4th at 8:30 a.m.  At that time, we will honor all staff members, especially those who are retiring or moving on to new adventures.  (The P.T.O. is also hosting a Retirement Reception in their honor on Tuesday, June 9th at 3:00 p.m. in the library.)  Field Day will be held on Friday, June 5th, with a rain date of Monday, June 8th.  The P.T.O. will again sponsor our annual end-of-year school picnic on Friday, June 5th.  The last day of school for the 2014-15 school year will be on Friday, June 12th, with dismissal taking place at 11:30 a.m.  On that day, we will hold our Farewell Assembly for Grade 5 students at 8:30 a.m. in the gym.  Kindergarten students will present our departing students with a carnation, just as Grade 5 students welcomed our newest students to the building at the beginning of the school year. 
Student placement letters will be mailed to parents/guardians on Friday, June 19th.  We are in the process of finalizing the hiring of a Grade 1 teacher, and I will announce the list of all our teachers and their assignments for the 2015-16 school year in an upcoming newsletter.   
Thanks for all you are doing—and will do—to make our school community one of safety, respect, and responsibility for all who come through our doors.